Hoffert Wins Top MiLB Award

Hoffert Wins Top MiLB Award

604 302 PBATS.com

President Mark O’Neal of the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society (PBATS) has announced Troy Hoffert of the Philadelphia Phillies as the winner of the Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year Award for the 2016 baseball season.

This award is given annually to one minor league athletic trainer. Individual minor league awards are also given for each minor league, the Dominican Summer League and a minor league coordinator.

Hoffert, a longtime member of the Philadelphia Phillies organization, held the athletic training duties for the Gulf Coast League in 2016.

“I am happy to announce Troy Hoffert as the Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year,” O’Neal said. “Troy does a tremendous job for the Philadelphia Phillies and is an extremely deserving recipient of this honor. It means so much to all of us athletic trainers to be honored by our peers, especially such a huge award like being named the best in the minor leagues. I’m thrilled for Troy and the Phillies organization.”

All individual league winners were eligible for the prestigious Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year award voted upon by the full membership of PBATS at the Major League Baseball Winter Meetings, which were held this year in Washington D.C.

In 2016, Joe Benge of the Tampa Bay Rays was awarded the honor of Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year.

2016 Minor League Award Winners Include:

            League                                        Winner                           Organization

Coordinator Jeff Collins Oakland Athletics
International League John Jochim Boston Red Sox
Pacific Coast League Bradley LaRosa Oakland Athletics
Eastern League Aaron Scott Philadelphia Phillies
Southern League Geoff Swanson Seattle Mariners
Texas League Grant Hufford Houston Astros
Florida State League Justin Ahrens Pittsburgh Pirates
California League Jason Kirkman Los Angeles Dodgers
Carolina League Toby Williams Chicago Cubs
Midwest League Jeff Paxson Milwaukee Brewers
South Atlantic League Dustin Vissering Texas Rangers
New York–Penn League Brian Newman Tampa Bay Rays
Northwest League Mickey Clarizio Colorado Rockies
Appalachian League Saburo Hagihara Kansas City Royals
Pioneer League Jesse Guffey Cincinnati Reds
Arizona League Teddy Blackwell Cleveland Indians
Gulf Coast League Troy Hoffert Philadelphia Phillies
Dominican Summer Darwin Tavarez Toronto Blue Jays