2019 PBATS Award Winners: News & Notes

2019 PBATS Award Winners: News & Notes

1024 768 PBATS.com

PBATS President’s Distinguished Service Award Winners:

  • Roger Caplinger, Director of Medical Operations, Milwaukee Brewers
  • George Poulis, Head Athletic Trainer, Atlanta Braves

The PBATS President’s Distinguished Service Award is presented to individuals who are recognized in the field of athletic training and among PBATS membership as supportive leaders, loyal members of the athletic training community and forward-thinking advocates for all. The award is given to those who assist in maintaining the integrity of athletic trainers and go above and beyond to ensure the ongoing evolution of the profession and PBATS membership as an educational society. As an integral part of the athletic training profession, the recipients of this award have made significant impacts on the lives of athletic trainers, PBATS members and the industry as a whole.

2018 PBATS Minor League Athletic Trainers of the Year: Individual League Awards

Coordinator Chuck Baughman Chicago Cubs
International League Chris McDonald Detroit Tigers Toledo Mud Hens
Pacific Coast League Lee Meyer Houston Astros Fresno Grizzlies
Eastern League Mickey Kozack Philadelphia Phillies Reading Phillies
Southern League TJ Saunders Atlanta Braves Mississippi Braves
Texas League Jacob Newburn Texas Rangers Frisco Rough Riders
Florida State League Kiyoshi Tada New York Mets St. Lucie Mets
California League Ricky Huerta San Diego Padres Lake Elsinore Storm
Carolina League Nick Kuchwara Boston Red Sox Salem Red Sox
Midwest League Brian Thorson Oakland Athletics Beloit Snappers
South Atlantic League Kris Terrian Philadelphia Phillies Lakewood Blueclaws
New York – Penn League Sean McFarland Detroit Tigers Connecticut Tigers
Northwest League Mickey Clarizio Colorado Rockies Boise Hawks
Appalachian League Tyler Brooks Pittsburgh Pirates Bristol Pirates
Pioneer League John Duff Colorado Rockies Grand Junction Rockies
Arizona League Clete Sigwart Cincinnati Reds AZL Reds
Gulf Coast League Adam Sparks Baltimore Orioles GCL Orioles
Dominican Summer Nick Voelker Oakland Athletics DSL Athletics

2018 PBATS Major League Staff of the Year

Chicago White Sox – Herm Schneider, Brian Ball, Brett Walker

2018 PBATS Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year

Chuck Baughman – Chicago Cubs

2018 PBATS Major League Team Physician 20 Year Service Award

Dr. Frank T. Finlan – Miami Marlins

2019 All Star Game Athletic Trainers

National League

  • Scott Sheridan – Philadelphia Phillies
  • Todd Tomczyk – Pittsburgh Pirates

American League

  • James Quinlan – Cleveland Indians
  • Jeff Desjardins – Cleveland Indians 

2019 Futures Game Athletic Trainers

  • Chuck Baughman – Chicago Cubs
  • Chad Wolfe – Cleveland Indians