Connect With US

Tampa Bay’s Benge leads MiLB award winners

Updated: March 10, 2016


CHICAGO (Aug. 19, 2015) – President Mark O’Neal of the Professional Baseball Athletic Trainers Society (PBATS) today announced the winners of the Minor League Athletic Trainers of the Year Awards for the 2015 baseball season. These awards are given annually to one member of each of the 16 leagues in Minor League Baseball, as well as one award for the Dominican Summer League.  An additional award is given to the Minor League Coordinator of the Year.

“I am very proud to announce PBATS’ Minor League Athletic Trainers of the Year,” O’Neal said. “These athletic trainers made an impact on their entire league and stood out in 2015 as the best at their craft in their respective leagues. I am honored that they all showed the dedication and professionalism it took to keep their players on the field. This group represents the bright future that lies ahead for PBATS.”

All 16 league winners, the Dominican Summer League winner and the Minor League Coordinator of the Year will now be eligible for the prestigious Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year award voted upon by the full membership of PBATS. That award will be given at the 2015 Major League Baseball Winter Meetings in Nashville, Tenn.

The Major League Athletic Training Staff of the Year will also be awarded at the 2015 MLB Winter Meetings. Last season, Todd Tomczyk, Ben Potenziano and Jeremiah Randall of the Pittsburgh Pirates took home the award. Like the Minor League Athletic Trainer of the Year award, the Major League award is voted on by the full membership of PBATS.

Award Winners:

League                       Winner                                 Organization

Coordinator Joe Benge Tampa Bay Rays
International League Scott Johnson Chicago White Sox
Pacific Coast League Brian Reinker Los Angeles Angels
Eastern League TJ Saunders Detroit Tigers
Southern League Shane Nelson Chicago Cubs
Texas League Greg Spence Los Angeles Angels
Florida State League Kyle Utne Cincinnati Reds
California League Travis Tims Oakland Athletics
Carolina League James Stone Kansas City Royals
Midwest League Rafael Freitas Arizona D’Backs
South Atlantic League Trek Schuler Baltimore Orioles
New York – Penn League Dan Martin St. Louis Cardinals
Northwest League Reggie Mungrue Toronto Blue Jays
Appalachian League Steve Taylor Minnesota Twins
Pioneer League John Duff Colorado Rockies
Arizona League Toby Williams Chicago Cubs
Gulf Coast League Troy Hoffert Philadelphia Phillies
Dominican Summer Martiza Castro San Diego Padres

Press Contact: Sam Radbil | 414.614.9909 (cell) |

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

Leave a Reply